14 OHS ballers earn Academic All-FRC accolades

Will Johnson

While the Owensville Dutchmen and Dutchgirl basketball teams each ended their season with 8-18 records, their accomplishments were numerous both on the court and in the classroom.

Able to earn a varsity letter and maintain at least a 3.6 grade-point average (gpa) during the season, a total of 14 Dutchmen and Dutchgirl basketball players earned Academic All-Conference recognition from the Four Rivers Conference.

Leading the two teams, Ryan Flanagan’s Dutchgirls had a total of nine players earn recognition for their efforts in the classroom.

Dutchgirl juniors earning Academic All-FRC honors included Breanna Diestelkamp, Ella Wright, Morgan Lairmore and Abby Koepke. Sophomore honorees were Brooke Nowack and Destinee Busenhart followed by the freshmen trio of Kate Angell, Katelyn Landolt and Anna Skornia. 

Todd Rehmert’s Dutchmen had two seniors, two juniors and a sophomore earn Academic All-FRC accolades.

Those student-athletes included Michael Lahmeyer, Tony Terry, Jr., Seth Mayberry, Jay Copeland and Trevor Abernathy.

On the boy’s side, Pacific’s Indians led the conference with eight student-athletes earning Academic All-FRC recognition.

A complete list of honorees on the girl’s side was not available as of press time.