Annual winding of the Maypole welcomes spring

Thirty-nine Owensville Elementary students participated in this year’s winding of the Maypole (right) on April 25 to welcome spring and open the annual Springfest. Before the winding the combined Owensville and Gerald Elementary choirs performed for the crowd. This year marked the 33rd Annual Owensville Springfest. The first spring festival was held in 1987 and was dedicated to the memory of Dr. Paul C. Baker, a local physician, community leader and Dutchmen supporter who was instrumental in the creation of the Tulip Festival, the original name of Springfest. The OES Choir is under the direction of Erin Sassmann. Colleen Clifton directs the GES Choir. The Maypole Committee consisted of  Hope Nilges, Mistri Rutledge, Andrea Lakebrink, Donna Moiner and Sassmann.