County incumbents win GOP Primary

Both incumbent Republican Gasconade County elected officials won their Aug. 7 Primary races and will be unopposed in the November General Election.

Presiding Commissioner Larry Miskel  won on Tuesday, 1,476 to 1,238, against challenger David Slater. Circuit Clerk Pamela Greunke won 1,865 to 761 over challenger Joann Dobson.

Gasconade County voters rejected a statewide proposition seeking approval for a “right to work” statutory measure which was passed in the 2017 by the Missouri legislature through Senate Bill 19. County voters rejected the measure in Proposition 67 percent to 32 percent with 2,716 no votes and 1,285 in favor. The county mirrors the statewide trend which was rejecting the proposition by a 61-38 margin as of 9:30 p.m. Tuesday.

County turnout was 38.2 percent as 4,032 of the 10,555 registered voters cast ballots.

The GOP favored incumbent U.S. Congressman Blaine Luetkemeyer over Chadwick Bicknell, 2,405-388. County Democrats favored Nicole Thompson in the 6th Senate District, 343 to 223 over Bryan Strueberg. Mollie Kristen Freebairn had 166 votes. Josh Hawley won the GOP Primary for U.S. Senate easily with 1,521 votes. Tony Monetti was a distant second with 351 votes in the county.

Claire McCaskill won the Democratic party’s Primary in the county with 742 votes.