County-wide sales tax for sheriff’s fund fails; Owensville voters elect Rickerd for fifth term as city marshal

Dave Marner

City Marshal Robert Rickerd was re-elected to his fifth term with 61 percent voter approval Tuesday.

Rickerd received 299 votes while challenger Scott Eiler received 188 votes or 38.6 percent of the ballots cast. The marshal’s position is for a four-year term.

Rickerd issued a statement Tuesday night offering, “a sincere thank you to all the voters who supported me again to serve a fifth term as their city marshal.”

Ward 2 Owensville voters turned out at a 31-percent rate while 27 percent of Ward 1’s registered voters went to the poll. 

John Kamler received 409 votes on 419 ballots cast in his uncontested race as incumbent mayor. Cathy Lahmeyer also faced no opposition in her bid for another term as a Ward 1 alderman. She received  229 votes from 235 ballots cast.

Denise Bohl easily won another term as a Ward 2 alderman, defeating challenger William Wade 164 to 42.

Both aldermen and the mayor will serve two-year terms.

Gasconade County voters rejected a half-cent sales tax to fund the county sheriff’s department’s operations. In a 20 percent voter turnout across the county, voters rejected the sales tax 1,169 to 947.

Joyce Baxter won a four-year term as the Southern District representative to the Gasconade County E-911 Board of Directors. Baxter received 574 votes to defeat Sharen D. Piles who had 242 ballots to her count.

In Hermann’s 2nd Ward, Susan Lenger edged Vanessa Mure by just two votes, 179 to 177. Lenger’s margin of victory was 50.28 percent to Mure’s 49.72 percent.

Hermann Mayor Robert Koerber narrowly defeated challenger Sheri Schneider, 369 to 352 (51.1 percent to 48.75). Carol Schluss received 643 votes in an uncontested race for city collector. David Faerber received 289 votes in an uncontested race for Ward 2 alderman.

Voter turnout in Hermann’s first ward was the highest in the county at 46 percent. The lowest turnout was in Third Creek (8 percent) followed by Rural Canaan (8 percent). The Bland/Canaan precinct posted an 11-percent turnout.

All three of Rosebud’s races were uncontested with incumbents for mayor and an alderman in each ward retaining their posts for a another two-year term. Shannon Grus received 35 votes for mayor. Justin Haase, Ward 1 alderman, received 20 votes and in Ward 2 Kelly Kuhrts had 18.

In Bland, voters rejected Proposition 1 to make the city marshal’s position an appointed one, 32 no to 26 yes. With 14 of 21 write-in ballots cast, Patrick Boatman was selected as the city marshal. All other candidates received one or two votes.

Tom Thompson received seven write-in votes to win the mayor’s seat. Rodney Lexa and Mike Slusser each had five votes. Jim Carpenter received 46 votes as a ballot candidate for alderman. Josh Jarvis received four of the 15 write-in votes cast for an at large alderman position.